Making a Snap Closure Nappy Cover OSFM

I love MCN’s and I love sewing so I thought what better use of my passions than to try and make something useful?

This post will explore how I made a one size fits most (OSFM) snap closure nappy cover. This can be used over a fitted nappy, with a lay in insert or with snap in inserts.

You can use Velcro (Hook and Loop) in place of the snaps but I prefer snaps.

Here’s the pattern for the cover I used:

Fabrics needed:
Outer: A laminated fabric. Can be PUL, minky or even cotton as long as the backing is waterproof.
Inner: Not necessary but you could potentially use a stay dry or soft fabric.

Other Notions:
Elastic: I used a 6mm braided elastic but you could probably adjust to use a fold over elastic (FOE).
KAM Snaps: I used size 20 (T5) KAM snaps. You will need 20 sockets for the waist adjustment panel, 4 studs for the waist adjustment wings, 6 sockets and 3 studs for the rise adjustment panel, 6 sockets for the snap in fitted insert or however many you require for whichever insert system you are using. I used a total of 32 sockets and 7 studs for the cover. I will be using another 6 studs for the insert when I start that part of the project.

Tutorials I used:
Snap in Cover and Multi Style AI2
– Flip Style Diaper

How I made the cover and what I would do differently next time:

  1. I printed out the pattern as instructed. I found the 100% scale for the fitted insert to be slightly too big for the fabric I had so I adjusted down to 90% for both the cover and fitted insert I want to use. I ended up printing out 3 copies.
  2. Cut out all the pattern pieces and tape together. First set is around the entire pattern. Second set is just the inside flaps. Third set is the finished size outline for snap backing (reinforces the fabric where the snaps will be fitted).
  3. Use pattern pieces to cut PUL backed fabric according to the tutorial. I used minky and made sure all the pieces were going the same direction. If using regular PUL, it probably wouldn’t matter as much which direction all the pieces go. I made the mistake of cutting too little fabric for the snap backing. Next time I would cut to the finished size for the entire front panel instead of separate sections for the waist and risers. I would cut an inch wide strip for the back where the insert snaps in place. I didn’t have enough this time and just used squares for each snap.
  4. With the backs of the main nappy and snap backing fabric together, install front waist panel and riser snaps with the sockets and studs facing outwards and caps on inside. Install insert snaps (if using) with the sockets facing in and the caps on the outside of the fabric. The only snaps you should have left over are the wing snaps.
    ** The best way to get the snaps to line up are to use a marker and mark the fabric through the holes you poked earlier then make sure they’re all lined up and spaced properly using a ruler before poking through the fabrics with the awl.
  5. Sew leg elastic casing, then flaps as per instructions. Sew back elastic casing (the tutorial calls for top stitching first but I prefer to do the top stitching either side of the casing).
  6. Install elastics using a bodkin. I cut my elastics to half the length of the casings. I reinforce the elastic ends by stitching over them in 2 places at each end. I set the needle at the leftmost position on my sewing machine, stitch in place and then set the needle to the rightmost position and stitch as well.
  7. Top stitch around. I always start at the end of an elastic casing and work around to the start of the next casing and skip the casing.
  8. Install the wing snaps and you’re done with the cover 🙂

img_2714img_2715-editedimg_2729

So I made mine at 90% so that the insert I made would fit on the trifold insert I had already (I didn’t have any fabric – I used a large double layered bamboo trifold insert and cut from that to make the inserts).

Posted on November 3, 2016, in Nappy Making Adventures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

