Making a Snap In Fitted Soaker/Insert for OSFM Snap In Cover

So previously I explored the making of the OSFM Snap In Cover (you can always skip the snap in insert snaps and just make it into a cover that fits over a regular fitted nappy).

This post explores the making of the matching snap in fitted soaker/insert that goes with the cover.

Here’s the pattern I used:

Fabrics Needed:

  • 2 layers (depending on thickness of material) of absorbent fabric such as bamboo terry or velour or fleece.
  • An optional stay dry layer such as minky or microfleece.

Other Notions:

  • Braided elastic 6mm (1/4 inch)
  • KAM snaps: 6 studs where the fitted insert snaps into the cover, another 2 studs for the rise adjustment snaps, 4 sockets for the rise adjustment snaps, 2 optional additional sockets for where an additional rectangular soaker can be snapped in and 2 optional studs for the snap in rectangular soaker. That makes a total of 10 studs and 6 sockets.

Tutorials I used:

How I made the fitted snap in insert and what I would do differently next time:

  1. I cut the pattern for both the rectangular soaker and the fitted insert from 2 layers of bamboo terry (from a large trifold I had previously bought), and 1 layer of minky.
  2. Serge around the edge of the 3 layers leaving an opening at the front end.
  3. Sew the back and leg casings.
  4. Install elastics using a bodkin and tack both ends.
  5. Serge the front edge to close.
  6. Sew in ends.
  7. Install snaps using the paper pattern, poking holes through the center of the snaps, marking with a pen, lining up with a ruler and poking through the markings with an awl before using pliers to install the snaps. For the back edge snaps I just made sure the center snaps were the same distance from the corner snaps as each other.
  8. I added two snap sockets at the back of the fitted insert so I could snap in the rectangular insert. There is also a tutorial available for a soaker sleeve for using other cheapy inserts instead of using a fitted insert/soaker.
  9. I might try following the original tutorial post where you sew in the rectangular insert instead of snapping in and installing the rise snaps the other way round so the sockets and studs face inwards instead of outwards. The rectangular insert would protect baby from having them against the skin if sewn in as opposed to the booster being optional.

How I made the rectangular soaker/booster:

  1. Serge around the entire soaker making sure you catch all 3 layers.
  2. Sew in ends.
  3. Install snaps at one end making sure they line up with the fitted soaker.

img_2729

Reason why I prefer the snap in booster? Because I like the option of being able to customise absorbency a little. I also like the option of being able to use the booster in another nappy if needed. I made the snaps the same width apart as a brand of nappy I already had in my stash so I could potentially use them instead.

 

Posted on November 8, 2016, in Nappy Making Adventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

